Killala AFC Lotto

    Killala AFC Newsletters

  • Killala AFC Tube

    Highlights from the U17 Womens World Cup in Trinidad & Tobago in Sept 2010 including Aileens fantastic strike.

  • Calendar

    June 2024
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul    
  • Site Counter



U12 Connaught Shield

By admin

Colemnstown Utd 4 Killala 1

An severely understrenght Killala U-12 boys team gave a good account of themselves last Saturday 30/01/10 but lost 4-1 to Colemanstown United of Galway in the 2nd round of the Connaught Shield.
After a tight opening 15 minutes Killala’s inexperience showed as they went one down.
Killala had most of the play for the next 10 minutes and their efforts paid off after a great pass from Jack Maughan sent Shane McAndrew through to slot passed the Colemanstown keeper to level the score. The home side were ahead again within 2 minutes after their best move of the game. The score remained 2-1 to the home side at half time.
The Killala management were left scratching their heads after 2 clear penalty appeals for handball were turned down in the 1st half yet early in the 2nd half a hanball in the box by Killala’s Keith Higgins resulted in a penalty for the home side and a straight red card for Killala’s defensive linchpin.
The resulting penalty was brilliantly saved by Peter Lynott but it was a Colemanstown player that was first to react bundling the ball over the line to give the home side a 3-1 lead.
Another refereeing decision left everyone watching the game at a fine Colemanstown venue wondering what happened when the Colemanstown manager was sent off while treating one of his injured players.
The 10 man Killala team pressed the Colemanstown team all the way with Shane Mcandrew, James Togher and Kevin Healy all making the home keeper work hard on several occassions.
In the dying moments of the game Colemanstown scored against the run of play against a stretched Killala side to secure a deserved 4-1 victory.
KILLALA TEAM: P.Lynott (C), M.McAvock, J.J.Gilivary, C.Mooney, K.Higgins, A.Coultry, J.Togher, N.Browne, K.Healy, J.Maughan & S.McAndrew. (no subs)

This post was submitted by admin.

Comments are closed.